SJC leadership is elected every two years. The Secretariat is responsible for the organisation’s overall political direction.

An Annual General Meeting is held every year where members formally adopt the SJC’s priorities through branch commissions, discussions, and resolutions. The Executive Council, effectively the highest decision making body after AGMs, is made up of the elected leadership of all branches and provides strategic leadership and guidance throughout the year.

Every two years there is an elective AGM where the SJC’s Secretariat is elected. The General Secretary is the head of the organization and the General Secretary’s office coordinates all day-to-day work of the SJC, providing overall management of governance, programmes, operations and political education. The Operations Department manages our human resources, finance, and administration.

The Local Government Programme leads our organising for the rights of informal settlement residents to dignity, equality, and justice. The Safety and Justice Programme leads our campaigns to ensure all people have access to a democratic and effective police and criminal justice system.



  • ChairpersonNkosikhona Swaartbooi
  • Deputy ChairpersonZimkita Booi
  • General Secretary Phumeza Mlungwana
  • Deputy General Secretary Dustin Kramer
  • Treasurer Andrew Ardington


General Secretary’s office:

  • General Secretary Phumeza Mlungwana
  • Deputy General Secretary Dustin Kramer
  • Communications & Political Education Coordinator Joel Bregman
  • Provincial Organiser Zukiswa Qezo
  • Educator Mandisa Dyantyi


Operations Department:

  • Operations Manager Siham Surve
  • Office Cleaner Nandipha Qegu


Local Government Programme:

  • Head of ProgrammeAxolile Notywala
  • Senior ResearcherThandeka Kathi
  • Programme Administrator Ntuthuzelo Vika
  • Junior Researcher Thozama Mngcongo
  • Community Advocate Zingisa Mrwebi
  • Community Advocate Nosiphelele Msesiwe
  • Community Advocate Xoliswa Mbadlisa
  • Social Audit Network Coordinator Thando Mhlanga


Safety & Justice Programme:

  • Head of Programme Chumile Sali
  • Senior Researcher Dalli Weyers
  • Programme Administrator Amkelwa Mapatwana
  • Community Advocate Nontando Mhlabeni